From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Tribute is a static ability introduced in Born of the Gods. [1] It gives opponents an unfortunate choice: have the creature grow in size, or allow a powerful enters-the-battlefield ability to trigger.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Born of the Gods, 2 Feb 2014):

  • 702.103. Tribute
    • 702.103a Tribute is a static ability that functions as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. "Tribute N" means "As this creature enters the battlefield, choose an opponent. That player may have this creature enter the battlefield with an additional N +1/+1 counters on it."
    • 702.103b Objects with tribute have triggered abilities that check "if tribute wasn’t paid." This condition is true if the opponent chosen as a result of the tribute ability didn’t have the creature enter the battlefield with +1/+1 counters as specified by the creature’s tribute ability.


[edit] Rulings

  • If the opponent pays tribute, the creature will enter the battlefield with the specified number of +1/+1 counters on it. It won’t enter the battlefield and then have the +1/+1 counters placed on it.
  • The choice of whether to pay tribute is made as the creature with tribute is entering the battlefield. At that point, it’s too late to respond to the creature spell. For example, in a multiplayer game, opponents won’t know whether tribute will be paid or which opponent will be chosen to pay tribute or not when deciding whether to counter the creature spell.
  • If the triggered ability has a target, that target will not be known while the creature spell with tribute is on the stack.
  • Players can’t respond to the tribute decision before the creature enters the battlefield. That is, if the opponent doesn’t pay tribute, the triggered ability will trigger before any player has a chance to remove the creature.
  • The triggered ability will resolve even if the creature with tribute isn’t on the battlefield at that time.

[edit] Example

  • Nessian Demolok - Mana3.gifManag.gifManag.gif
    Creature — Beast
    Tribute 3 (As this creature enters the battlefield, an opponent of your choice may put 3 +1/+1 counters on it.)
    When Nessian Demolok enters the battlefield, if tribute wasn't paid, destroy target noncreature permanent.</ref>

[edit] Color percentages

There is a total of 11 cards that involve tribute, which divide by color as follows:

  • Red = 37 %
  • Green = 27 %
  • White = 9 %
  • Black = 9 %
  • Blue = 9 %
  • Multicolor = 9 %

[edit] References

  1. Mark Rosewater. (January 20, 2014.) "Born Legacy", Daily MTG,, Wizards of the Coast.