From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

A supertype is a characteristic of a card and any one of six words that may appear on a card's type line just before its card type[s]:

The supertypes all have rules text attached to them: More than four copies of a basic land can be included in a deck, and state-based effects dictate what happens if multiple Legendary permanents with the same name, or multiple World permanents of any name, are in play simultaneously. Some cards also refer to supertypes by prefixing them with "non", which means all cards that are not that supertype.


  • Wasteland has the text: "Tap.gif, Sacrifice Wasteland: Destroy target nonbasic land."

This means that wasteland can target any land that is not a basic land.

From the Comprehensive Rules:

  • 205.4. Supertypes
    • 205.4a A card can also have one or more supertypes. These are printed directly before the card’s types. If an object’s types or subtypes change, any supertypes it has are kept, although they may not be relevant to the new type.
    • 205.4b Any land with the supertype “basic” is a basic land. Any land that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonbasic land.
      • Example
        Note that cards printed in sets prior to the Eighth Edition core set didn’t use the word “basic” to indicate a basic land. Cards from those sets with the following names are basic lands: Forest, Island, Mountain, Plains, Swamp, Snow-Covered Forest, Snow-Covered Island, Snow-Covered Mountain, Snow-Covered Plains, and Snow-Covered Swamp.
    • 205.4c Any permanent with the supertype “legendary” is subject to the state-based effect for legendary permanents, also called the “legend rule” (see rule 420.5e).
    • 205.4d Any permanent with the supertype “world” is subject to the state-based effect for world permanents, also called the “world rule” (see rule 420.5i).
    • 205.4e Any permanent with the supertype “snow” is a snow permanent. Any permanent that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonsnow permanent, regardless of its name.
    • 204.4g Any scheme card with the supertype “ongoing” is exempt from the state-based action for schemes (see rule 704.5v).
Card types
Groups Supertypes Card types Subtypes
Instant FUT Instant symbol.png Trap Arcane
Sorcery FUT Sorcery symbol.png
Permanent Basic,
Artifact FUT Artifact symbol.png Equipment, Fortification, Contraption
Creature FUT Creature symbol.png (…)
Enchantment FUT Enchantment symbol.png Aura, Curse, Shrine
Land FUT Land symbol.png (…)
Planeswalker FUT Planeswalker symbol.png (…)
Miscellaneous Tribal (…)
Plane (…)
Ongoing Scheme
Obsolete Mono,
Mana Source,