Storm

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Storm
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Scourge
Last Used: Future Sight
Reminder Text: Storm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each spell cast before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)
Storm scale: 10by definition, see storm scale
Statistics: 19 cards
{R}42% {G}25% {B}11% {U}11% {W}11%
Gatherer search for "Storm"

Storm is a keyword ability on instants and sorceries that creates a copy of the spell for each spell played before it in the current turn.

The first cards with Storm were printed in Scourge, with more being printed in Time Spiral.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))

702.39. Storm

  • 702.39a Storm is a triggered ability that functions on the stack. “Storm” means “When you cast this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each other spell that was cast before it this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies.”
  • 702.39b If a spell has multiple instances of storm, each triggers separately.
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))
Storm
A keyword ability that creates copies of a spell. See rule 702.39, “Storm.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The storm copies are put directly onto the stack—they aren't played. That means the copies don't generate storm copies themselves, and they aren't counted by other storm spells played later during the turn.
  • Each storm spell with a target allows you to change the target for each copy of that spell. You make that choice for each copy individually.
  • When counting spells played in a turn, you do count spells that were played face down, spells played from zones other than a hand, and spells that were countered.
  • A copy of a spell can be countered, just like any other spell, but each copy has to be countered individually. Countering a storm spell won't counter the copies of it.
  • Removing a card from the game using suspend doesn't count as playing a spell; you only play a suspended spell when you remove the last time counter from it and that ability resolves.
  • When a spell like Twincast copies a spell that has storm, the copied spell's storm ability doesn't trigger. You get just one new spell.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Grapeshot - {1}{R}
    Sorcery
    Grapeshot deals 1 damage to target creature or player.
    Storm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each spell cast before it this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

Notable cards with storm[edit | edit source]

Storm scale[edit | edit source]

Mark Rosewater has declared that he doesn’t ever see Storm coming back in a Standard-legal set. On Blogatog, he uses the "Storm scale" - a scale of 1 through 10 where 10 is Storm - when he answers questions about the likelihood of the return of a mechanic in a Standard-legal set.[1][2][3] 1 = will definitely see again; 10 = never say never, but this is pretty close to never. The Storm-scale does not affect the reprinting of cards in supplemental sets such as Modern Masters and the Magic Online-only set Vintage Masters.

References[edit | edit source]