From MTG Salvation Wiki
|Last Used:||Future Sight|
|Reminder Text:||Split second (As long as this spell is on the stack, players can't cast spells or activate abilities that aren't mana abilities.)|
|Statistics:|| 15 cards|
27% 20% 20% 20% 13%
|Gatherer search for "Split second"|
History[edit | edit source]
A historical note is that, in a way, Split second harkens back to Interrupts, which also couldn't be responded to with instants or activated abilities, only other interrupts.
Rules[edit | edit source]
Rulings[edit | edit source]
- Players still get priority while a card with split second is on the stack.
- Split second doesn't prevent players from playing mana abilities.
- Split second doesn't prevent triggered abilities from triggering. If one does, its controller puts it on the stack and, if applicable, chooses targets for it. Those abilities will resolve as normal.
- Split second doesn't prevent players from performing special actions. Most notably, players may turn face-down creatures face up while a spell with split second is on the stack. For example, if Sudden Death is targetting a creature you control, you may flip up a Willbender to change the target of Sudden Death to another creature.
- Split second does not prevent the spell from being countered by triggered abilities. One such example is Voidmage Apprentice. Decree of Silence can also counter cards with Split second.
- Split second won't affect spells and abilities that are already on the stack.
- If the resolution of a triggered ability involves casting a spell, that part of the effect won't work if a spell with split second is on the stack.
Example[edit | edit source]
References[edit | edit source]
- Mark Rosewater. (September 18, 2006.) "Plenty of Time", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Magic Arcana. (October 9, 2006.) "Split Second Visual Cue", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Matt Cavotta. (September 28, 2006.) "Dueling in Dominaria", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- Magic Arcana. (February 20, 2007.) "Extirpate Sketches", magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.