Share

Share

Split cards

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Comprehensive Rules
Game Concepts
Parts of a Card
Card Types
Zones
Turn Structure
Spells, Abilities, and Effects
Additional Rules
700. General
701. Keyword Actions
702. Keyword Abilities
703. Turn-Based Actions
704. State-Based Actions
705. Flipping a Coin
706. Copying Objects
707. Face-Down Spells and Permanents
708. Split Cards
709. Flip Cards
710. Leveler Cards
711. Double-Faced Cards
712. Controlling Another Player
713. Ending the Turn
714. Restarting the Game
715. Subgames
716. Taking Shortcuts
717. Handling Illegal Actions
Multiplayer Rules
Casual Variants

Split cards are Magic cards with two card faces. A split card is literally "split" into two separate cards each with its own card name, art, mana cost, text, etc. In any zone except the stack, a split card has two sets of characteristics; while it's on the stack, it only has the characteristics of the half being played. This provides many interesting interactions with cards that create effects based on converted mana cost. For example, if Dark Confidant reveals a split card, you would lose life equal to the total converted mana cost of both sides. However, Venarian Glimmer needs only be set to the smaller converted mana cost, not the combined converted mana cost.

They were introduced in the Invasion block, where each side was from a different color. [1] In Dissension each half was a multicolored card from a different guild. [2][3] In Planar Chaos, split cards were introduced where both sides were the same color (all split cards in PC are red).

Dragon's Maze introduced split cards with Fuse, an ability that lets you play both halves as one spell. [4]

Rules[edit]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Khans of Tarkir)

  • 708. Split Cards
    • 708.1. Split cards have two card faces on a single card. The back of a split card is the normal Magic card back.
    • 708.2. In every zone except the stack, split cards have two sets of characteristics and two converted mana costs. As long as a split card is a spell on the stack and wasn't cast using fuse (see rule 702.101, "Fuse"), only the characteristics of the half being cast exist. The other half's characteristics are treated as though they didn't exist. A split card that's a spell on the stack and was cast using fuse has two sets of characteristics and one converted mana cost. Its converted mana cost is equal to the total amount of mana in its two mana costs, regardless of color.
      • 708.2a If a player casts a split card without using fuse, that player chooses which half of that split card he or she is casting before putting it onto the stack. Only that half is evaluated to see if it can be cast. Only that half is considered to be put onto the stack.
      • 708.2b If a player casts a split card with fuse from his or her hand, in addition to choosing either half as described above, the player may choose to cast both halves, resulting in a fused split spell. Both halves are evaluated to see if the spell can be cast. If either half can't be cast, then both halves can't be cast as a single spell.
    • 708.3. Each split card that consists of two halves with different colored mana symbols in their mana costs is a multicolored card while it’s not a spell on the stack. While it’s a spell on the stack, it’s only the color or colors of the half or halves being cast.
    • 708.4. Although split cards have two castable halves, each split card is only one card. For example, a player who has drawn or discarded a split card has drawn or discarded one card, not two.
    • 708.5. Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it’s in a zone other than the stack gets two answers (one for each of the split card’s two halves). Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a fused split spell gets two answers. Anything that asks for a particular characteristic of a split card while it's a spell on the stack or that asks for the converted mana cost of a fused split spell gets one answer.
      Example: Infernal Genesis has an ability that reads, “At the beginning of each player’s upkeep, that player puts the top card from his or her library into his or her graveyard. He or she then puts X 1/1 black Minion creature tokens into play, where X is that card’s converted mana cost.” If the top card of your library is Assault/Battery when this ability resolves, the game sees its converted mana cost as “1, and 4.” You get five creature tokens.
      Example: Spell Blast says "Counter target spell with converted mana cost X." If a player wants to cast Spell Blast and choose the fused split spell Breaking/Entering, which has mana costs {U}{B} and {4}{B}{R}, as the target, that player must choose 8 as the value of X.
    • 708.6. Some effects perform comparisons involving one or more split cards in a zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells.
      • 708.6a Anything that performs a positive comparison (such as asking if a card is red) or a relative comparison (such as asking if a card's converted mana cost is 3 or less) involving one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells gets only one answer. This answer is "yes" if either side of each split card in the comparison would return a "yes" answer if compared individually.
        Example: Void reads, "Choose a number. Destroy all artifacts and creatures with converted mana cost equal to that number. Then target player reveals his or her hand and discards all nonland cards with converted mana cost equal to the number." If a player casts Void and chooses 1, his or her opponent would discard Assault/Battery because its converted mana costs are 1 and 4. The same is true if the player chooses 4. If the player chooses 5, however, Assault/Battery would be unaffected.
      • 708.6b Anything that performs a negative comparison (such as asking if cards have different names) involving one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack or involving one or more fused split spells also gets only one answer. This answer is "yes" if performing the analogous positive comparison would return a "no" answer.
      • 708.6c If anything performs a comparison involving multiple characteristics or values of one or more split cards in any zone other than the stack or involving multiple characteristics or values of one or more fused split spells, each characteristic or value is compared separately. If each of the individual comparisons would return a "yes" answer, the whole comparison returns a "yes" answer. The individual comparisons may involve different halves of the same split card.
        Example: Sunforger has an ability that reads, "{R}{W},Unattach Sunforger: Search your library for a red or white instant card with converted mana cost 4 or less and cast that card without paying its mana cost. Then shuffle your library." This ability can be used to cast either half of Research/Development, as Research has converted mana cost 2 (even though Development has converted mana cost 5) and Development is red (even though Research is neither red nor white).
    • 708.7. If an effect instructs a player to name a card and the player wants to name a split card, the player must name both halves of the split card. An object has the chosen name if it has at least one of the two names chosen this way.

Notable split cards[edit]

References[edit]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (February 11, 2002.) "Split Decisions", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (April 17, 2006.) "Split (Odds &) Ends", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Aaron Forsythe. (April 28, 2006.) "The Truth about Split Cards", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (April 15, 2013.) "A Maze-ing Grace, Part 2", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.