The Future Sight
symbol for Sorcery cards.
Sorceries, like instants, represent one-shot or short-term magical spells. They are never put into the in-play zone; instead, they take effect when their mana cost is paid and the spell resolves, and then are immediately put into the player's graveyard.
Sorceries and instants differ only in when they can be played. Sorceries can only be played during the player's main phase, and only when nothing else is on the stack. Instants, on the other hand, can be played at any time, including during other player's turns and while another spell or ability is waiting to resolve.
From the Comprehensive Rules
(Conspiracy: Take the Crown
(August 26, 2016))
- 307.1. A player who has priority may cast a sorcery card from his or her hand during a main phase of his or her turn when the stack is empty. Casting a sorcery as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, “Casting Spells.”)
- 307.2. When a sorcery spell resolves, the actions stated in its rules text are followed. Then it’s put into its owner’s graveyard.
- 307.3. Sorcery subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: “Sorcery — Arcane.” Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. The set of sorcery subtypes is the same as the set of instant subtypes; these subtypes are called spell types. Sorceries may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3k for the complete list of spell types.
- 307.4. Sorceries can’t enter the battlefield. If a sorcery would enter the battlefield, it remains in its previous zone instead.
- 307.5. If a spell, ability, or effect states that a player can do something only “any time he or she could cast a sorcery,” it means only that the player must have priority, it must be during the main phase of his or her turn, and the stack must be empty. The player doesn’t need to have a sorcery he or she could actually cast. Effects that would prevent that player from casting a spell or casting a sorcery don’t affect the player’s capability to perform that action (unless the action is actually casting a spell or casting a sorcery).
- 307.5a Similarly, if an effect checks to see if a spell was cast “any time a sorcery couldn’t have been cast,” it’s checking only whether the spell’s controller cast it without having priority, during a phase other than his or her main phase, or while another object was on the stack.
- ↑ Mark Rosewater. (May 15, 2006.) “It’s About Time”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Aaron Forsythe. (April 23, 2004.) “Turning the Sorcery Knob”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Randy Buehler. (June 27, 2003.) “Instants and Sorceries”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
- ↑ Mark Rosewater. (April 19, 2004.) “Slow and Steady”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.