Snow

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Snow mana symbol

Snow is a supertype with no inherent functionality. Instead, it serves as an identifying characteristic, and is closely tied to snow mana costs.

Snow appears on basic lands from Ice Age, and cards of multiple types in Coldsnap, and is referenced by cards in Alliances.

Description[edit | edit source]

Unlike other supertypes, like basic or world, but similar to the spell subtype arcane, snow does nothing other than to identify snow permanents. Instead, various effects reference snow permanents.[1][2]

Snow mana costs[edit | edit source]

Snow mana costs, represented by {S}, can be paid by one mana produced by a snow permanent, regardless of that mana's type. However, this is a requirement of the cost itself. The mana produced by a snow permanent has no special properties, effects, or restrictions derived from the snow supertype, and except when considering snow mana costs, that mana is indistinguishable from any other mana of the same type.

History[edit | edit source]

Snow is a replacement for the supertype "Snow-Covered". Cards that were formerly snow-covered received Oracle updates upon the release of the Coldsnap expansion set.[3]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Eldritch Moon (July 22, 2016))

107.4h The snow mana symbol {S} represents one generic mana in a cost. This generic mana can be paid with one mana of any type produced by a snow permanent (see rule 205.4f). Effects that reduce the amount of generic mana you pay don’t affect {S} costs. (There is no such thing as “snow mana”; “snow” is not a type of mana.)

From the Comprehensive Rules (Eldritch Moon (July 22, 2016))

205.4f Any permanent with the supertype “snow” is a snow permanent. Any permanent that doesn’t have this supertype is a nonsnow permanent, regardless of its name.

Notes[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

External link[edit | edit source]