Share

Share

Scavenge

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Scavenge
Type: Activated
Introduced: Return to Ravnica
Last Used: Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text: Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.
Statistics: 12 cards
Manag.gif50% Manab.gif25% Multicolor 25%
Gatherer search for "Scavenge"

Scavenge is a keyword ability that was introduced in Return to Ravnica. Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with scavenge. It basically reads as a variation on flashback that makes target creature bigger.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Khans of Tarkir)

  • 702.96. Scavenge
    • 702.96a Scavenge is an activated ability that functions only while the card with scavenge is in a graveyard. "Scavenge [cost]" means "[Cost], Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counter equal to the power of the card you exiled on target creature. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery."

Rulings[edit]

  • Exiling the creature card with scavenge is part of the cost of activating the scavenge ability. Once the ability is activated and the cost is paid, it’s too late to stop the ability from being activated by trying to remove the creature card from the graveyard.

Example[edit]

  • Dreg Mangler - Mana1.gifManab.gifManag.gif
    Creature — Plant Zombie
    3/3
    Haste
    Scavenge Mana3.gifManab.gifManag.gif (Mana3.gifManab.gifManag.gif, Exile this card from your graveyard: Put a number of +1/+1 counters equal to this card's power on target creature. Scavenge only as a sorcery.)