Share

Share

Regeneration

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Regeneration is a replacement effect which means: "The next time this permanent would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat." Although the current reminder text is fairly elegant, regeneration has historically been a confusing effect. Aaron Forsythe has stated, "The word 'regenerate' has been tossed onto cards for years as if it was one of the most simple concepts in the game, along the lines of 'attack' and 'graveyard.' The truth is that the mechanic is so complicated and wonky that we would never greenlight it today, but it has been grandfathered into the fabric of the game, and it does fill a nice niche."[1] Regenerate appears mostly on black cards or green cards, though it appeared on white cards early in Magic's history and again in Planar Chaos.

From the Comprehensive Rules

  • 614.8. Regeneration is a destruction-replacement effect. The word “instead” doesn’t appear on the card but is implicit in the definition of regeneration. “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.” Abilities that trigger from damage being dealt still trigger even if the permanent regenerates. See rule 701.12.

From the Comprehensive Rules

  • 701.12.. Regenerate
    • 701.12a If the effect of a resolving spell or ability regenerates a permanent, it creates a replacement effect that protects the permanent the next time it would be destroyed this turn. In this case, “Regenerate [permanent]” means “The next time [permanent] would be destroyed this turn, instead remove all damage marked on it and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.”
    • 701.12b If the effect of a static ability regenerates a permanent, it replaces destruction with an alternate effect each time that permanent would be destroyed. In this case, “Regenerate [permanent]” means “Instead remove all damage marked on [permanent] and tap it. If it’s an attacking or blocking creature, remove it from combat.”
    • 701.12c Neither activating an ability that creates a regeneration shield nor casting a spell that creates a regeneration shield is the same as regenerating a permanent. Effects that say that a permanent can’t be regenerated don’t prevent such abilities from being activated or such spells from being cast; rather, they prevent regeneration shields from having any effect.

Rulings[edit]

  • An effect which says something "can't be regenerated" means that the Regenerate replacement effect won't be applied to that creature even if one is active. If something "can't be regenerated", you can still play spells and abilities that produce a Regenerate effect, but they just won't do anything useful.

Example[edit]

  • Cudgel Troll - Mana2.gifManag.gifManag.gif
    Creature — Troll
    4/3
    Manag.gif: Regenerate Cudgel Troll. (The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat.)

Reminder text[edit]

The latest reminder text for Regenerate reads "The next time this creature would be destroyed this turn, it isn't. Instead tap it, remove all damage from it, and remove it from combat."

Enchantments that grant just Regeneration[edit]

Target creature

Aura (enchanted creature)

References[edit]

  1. Aaron Forsythe. (August 5, 2005.) "Ninth Time's a Charm: Part 1", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.