From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Populate is a keyword action that was introduced in Return to Ravnica. Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with populate. It creates copies of creature tokens.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Fate Reforged)

  • 701.27. Populate
    • 701.27a To populate means to choose a creature token you control and put a token onto the battlefield that’s a copy of that creature token.
    • 701.27b If you control no creature tokens when instructed to populate, you won’t put a token onto the battlefield.


  • You can choose any creature token you control. If a spell or ability puts a token onto the battlefield under your control and then instructs you to populate (as Coursers’ Accord does), you may choose to copy the token you just created, or you may choose to copy another creature token you control.
  • If you choose to copy a creature token that’s a copy of another creature, the new creature token will copy the characteristics of whatever the original token is copying.
  • The new creature token copies the characteristics of the original token as stated by the effect that put the original token onto the battlefield.
  • The new token doesn’t copy whether the original token is tapped or untapped, whether it has any counters on it or Auras and Equipment attached to it, or any noncopy effects that have changed its power, toughness, color, and so on.
  • Any "as [this creature] enters the battlefield" or "[this creature] enters the battlefield with" abilities of the new token will work.
  • If you control no creature tokens when you populate, nothing will happen.


  • Eyes in the Skies - Mana3.gifManaw.gif
    Put a 1/1 white Bird creature token with flying onto the battlefield, then populate. (Put a token onto the battlefield that's a copy of a creature token you control.)

Color percentages[edit]

There is a total of 14 cards that involve populate, which divide by color as such: [1]

  • Multicolored = 43%
  • White = 36%
  • Green = 21%