Loyalty

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Loyalty is a characteristic of a Planeswalker. Although mechanically similar to life, it is flavorwise not the same. [1] [2]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 209. Loyalty
    • 209.1. Each planeswalker card has a loyalty number printed in its lower right corner. This indicates its loyalty while it’s not on the battlefield, and it also indicates that the planeswalker enters the battlefield with that many loyalty counters on it.
    • 209.2. An activated ability with a loyalty symbol in its cost is a loyalty ability. Loyalty abilities follow special rules: A player may activate a loyalty ability of a permanent he or she controls any time he or she has priority and the stack is empty during a main phase of his or her turn, but only if none of that permanent’s loyalty abilities have been activated that turn. See rule 606, “Loyalty Abilities.”

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 119.3c Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from that planeswalker.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 704.5i If a planeswalker has loyalty 0, it’s put into its owner’s graveyard.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Damage dealt to a planeswalker causes that many loyalty counters to be removed from it. This is a damage result; see rule 119.3c.
  • A planeswalker with loyalty 0 is put into its owner’s graveyard. This is a state-based effect; see rule 704.5i.

Symbol[edit | edit source]

Loyalty symbol start.jpg

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Doug Beyer. (August 26, 2009.) "Your Mailbox is Over Vorthosity", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast. [dead link]
  2. Doug Beyer. (November 25, 2009.) "Brooms, Planes, and Valakuts: Tales from the Inbox", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast. [dead link]