Share

Share

Lifelink

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Lifelink
Type: Static
Introduced: Mirrodin (mechanic)
Future Sight (keyword)
Last Used: Magic 2015
Reminder Text: Lifelink (Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.)
Statistics:
Gatherer search for "Lifelink"

Lifelink is a keyword ability introduced in Future Sight. Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source’s controller to gain that much life

Description[edit | edit source]

Future Sight hinted at a lot of things from Magic's potential future on its futureshifted cards. For lifelink, that future was the very next set released, Tenth Edition. This ability can be traced back to the card El-Hajjâj in Arabian Nights. [1]

Before the rules changes in Magic 2010, lifelink was a triggered ability, and along with combat damage it used the stack. This meant that its life gain, if caused by combat, would arrive too late to prevent the player from losing the game due to combat damage from the same combat. It is now a static ability that causes life gain at the same time as the damage that causes it.

Trivia[edit | edit source]

The vigilance, lifelink, and fear keywords are the only keywords with a card of the exact name (Vigilance, Lifelink and Fear respectively). Flying comes close, with the card called Flight.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Magic Origins (July 17, 2015))

702.15. Lifelink

  • 702.15a Lifelink is a static ability.
  • 702.15b Damage dealt by a source with lifelink causes that source’s controller, or its owner if it has no controller, to gain that much life (in addition to any other results that damage causes). See rule 119.3.
  • 702.15c If a permanent leaves the battlefield before an effect causes it to deal damage, its last known information is used to determine whether it had lifelink.
  • 702.15d The lifelink rules function no matter what zone an object with lifelink deals damage from.
  • 702.15e Multiple instances of lifelink on the same object are redundant.


Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • The ability causes life gain whenever a permanent with lifelink deals any damage, not just combat damage.
  • All older cards with the ability "Whenever this permanent deals damage, you gain that much life." that received errata to change that ability to "lifelink" have reverted to their original wording with the exception of Loxodon Warhammer, which has been printed with the word "lifelink" in 10th Edition and two subsequent reprintings.
  • Note that the card Spirit Link does not grant the creature it enchants lifelink. The lifelink ability has the creature's controller gain life. Spirit Link has Spirit Link's controller gain life. The same is true for Vampiric Link.

Reminder text[edit | edit source]

The latest reminder text for Lifelink reads "Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life."

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Caravan Hurda - Mana4.gifManaw.gif
    Creature — Giant
    1/5
    Lifelink (Damage dealt by this creature also causes you to gain that much life.)

Enchantments that grant just Lifelink[edit | edit source]

One creature

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (June 8, 2015.) "Evergreen Eggs & Ham", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit | edit source]