Namespaces

Variants

Share

Share
Actions

Landfall

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Landfall is an ability word which signals triggered abilities that respond to a Land entering the Battlefield under the control of the player with the Landfall card. Landfall was introduced in Zendikar [1] [2] [3], and expanded upon in Worldwake [4] [5]

Contents

[edit] Rulings

  • A landfall ability triggers whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control for any reason. It triggers whenever you play a land, as well as whenever a spell or ability (such as Rampant Growth) causes you to put a land onto the battlefield under your control. It will even trigger when a spell or ability causes another player to put a land onto the battlefield under your control (as can happen with Yavimaya Dryad's ability, for example).
  • When a land enters the battlefield under your control, each landfall ability of the permanents you control will trigger. You can put them on the stack in any order. The last ability you put on the stack will be the first one that resolves.

[edit] Examples

  • Plated Geopede - Mana1.gifManar.gif
    Creature — Insect
    1/1
    First Strike
    Landfall — Whenever a land enters the battlefield under your control, Plated Geopede gets +2/+2 until end of turn.

[edit] Color percentages

There are a total of 42 cards that involve landfall, which divide by color as such:

  • Green = 24 %
  • Black = 19 %
  • Blue = 19 %
  • White = 14 %
  • Red = 12 %
  • Artifact = 12 %

[edit] References

  1. Mark Rosewater. (September 14, 2009.) "Achieving Zendikar, Part II", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Tom LaPille. (September 25, 2009.) "Making Landfall, Part I", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Tom LaPille. (October 09, 2009.) "Making Landfall, Part II", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Tom LaPille. (January 22, 2010.) "The Second Landfall", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Mark Rosewater. (January 25, 2010.) "A Multikick in the Seat of the Pants", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

[edit] External links