Graveyard

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

The graveyard is one of the six main zones in the game of Magic: The Gathering.

Description[edit | edit source]

The graveyard is the pile into which you discard, where instant and sorcery spells go once they have resolved, and where permanents go when they have been sacrificed, destroyed, or "put into the graveyard" due to a state-based effect.[1][2][3]

Cards in the graveyard are usually no longer relevant to the game, but some mechanics do interact with the graveyard. Examples are Flashback, unearth, dredge and delve. A notable creature type that often comes back from the graveyard is Zombies. The threshold mechanic also makes use of the graveyard and the number of cards in it. Decks such as reanimator are built to use or re-use cards in the graveyard, often making it as useful a resource as a player's hand.

Flavor[edit | edit source]

Flavory speaking, sometimes the graveyard is regarded as a literal cemetery littered with bodies. In other ways, is regarded as a more conceptual past, a "place" where forgotten magics are hidden.[4][5]

"Graveyard sets"[edit | edit source]

Weatherlight was the first set where the graveyard "mattered". Blocks like Odyssey and Innistrad gave graveyard strategies the center stage, and the graveyard played a huge part for the Golgari, Grixis, and Sultai in otherwise not-graveyard-focused sets.[6]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Shadows over Innistrad (April 8, 2016))

404. Graveyard

  • 404.1. A player’s graveyard is his or her discard pile. Any object that’s countered, discarded, destroyed, or sacrificed is put on top of its owner’s graveyard, as is any instant or sorcery spell that’s finished resolving. Each player’s graveyard starts out empty.
  • 404.2. Each graveyard is kept in a single face-up pile. A player can examine the cards in any graveyard at any time but normally can’t change their order. Additional rules applying to sanctioned tournaments may allow a player to change the order of cards in his or her graveyard.
  • 404.3. If an effect or rule puts two or more cards into the same graveyard at the same time, the owner of those cards may arrange them in any order.

Order of cards in the graveyard[edit | edit source]

Several cards relied on the order of cards in a graveyard (i.e. Ashen Ghoul), "Volrath's Shapeshifter from Stronghold was the last card printed that referred to the graveyard being in a specific order".[7]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (November 14, 2011.) “Grave Consequences, Part 1”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (November 17, 2011.) “Grave Consequences, Part 2”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Tom LaPille. (November 18, 2011.) “Graveyard Shifts”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Doug Beyer. (December 10, 2008.) “The Flavor of Zones”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  5. Doug Beyer. (November 16, 2011.) “It's Not a Discard Pile”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  6. Sam Stoddard. (February 6, 2015.) “Sultai Graveyard Strategies”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  7. Wizards of the Coast. (May 16, 2002.) “<old> Graveyard Order”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.