Share

Share

IntroAchievements.png

Gravestorm

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Gravestorm
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Future Sight
Last Used: Future Sight
Reminder Text: Gravestorm (When you cast this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each permanent that was put into a graveyard from battlefield this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies.)
Statistics: 1 card
Manab.gif100%
Gatherer search for "Gravestorm"

Gravestorm is a triggered keyword ability. It's similar to storm, except that instead of counting the number of spells played that turn, it counts the number of permanents put into a graveyard from play that turn. Gravestorm was introduced in Future Sight and has only been printed on one card so far, the timeshifted Bitter Ordeal. According to Mark Rosewater, it is unlikely to be reused. [1]

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Magic Origins (July 17, 2015))

702.68. Gravestorm

  • 702.68a Gravestorm is a triggered ability that functions on the stack. “Gravestorm” means “When you cast this spell, put a copy of it onto the stack for each permanent that was put into a graveyard from the battlefield this turn. If the spell has any targets, you may choose new targets for any of the copies.”
  • 702.68b If a spell has multiple instances of gravestorm, each triggers separately.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Bitter Ordeal - Mana2.gifManab.gif
    Sorcery
    Search target player's library for a card and exile it. Then that player shuffles his or her library.
    Gravestorm (When you cast this spell, copy it for each permanent put into a graveyard this turn. You may choose new targets for the copies.)

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (May 18, 2015 .) "Modern Mailbag", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.