Fortification

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Fortification is an artifact type introduced in Future Sight. A Fortification can be attached to a land following the same rules as an Equipment attached to a creature. It uses the Fortify keyword, its counterpart to Equip. So far, the only Fortification in existence is Darksteel Garrison.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 301.6. Some artifacts have the subtype “Fortification.” A Fortification can be attached to a land. It can’t legally be attached to an object that isn’t a land. Fortification’s analog to the equip keyword ability is the fortify keyword ability. Rules 301.5a–e apply to Fortifications in relation to lands just as they apply to Equipment in relation to creatures, with one clarification relating to rule 301.5c: a Fortification that’s also a creature (not a land) can’t fortify a land. (See rule 702.66, “Fortify.”)

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 604.4. Many Auras, Equipment, and Fortifications have static abilities that modify the object they’re attached to, but those abilities don’t target that object. If an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification is moved to a different object, the ability stops applying to the original object and starts modifying the new one.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Aether Revolt (January 20, 2017))

  • 702.66. Fortify
    • 702.66a Fortify is an activated ability of Fortification cards. “Fortify [cost]” means “[Cost]: Attach this Fortification to target land you control. Activate this ability only any time you could cast a sorcery.”
    • 702.66b For more information about Fortifications, see rule 301, “Artifacts.”
    • 702.66c If a Fortification has multiple instances of fortify, any of its fortify abilities may be used.