Share

Share

Flashback

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Flashback
Type: Static
Introduced: Odyssey
Last Used: Dark Ascension
Reminder Text: You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.
Statistics: 113 cards
Manar.gif26% Manag.gif21% Manau.gif19% Manab.gif17% Manaw.gif14%
Artifact 2%, Multicolor 1%
Gatherer search for "Flashback"

Flashback is a keyword ability on instants and sorceries that allows the player to pay an alternate cost to play the spell directly from his or her graveyard. The spell card is exiled when the spell leaves the stack. Flashback's equivalent for permanents is unearth.

The first tournament-legal cards with flashback were printed in Odyssey block, but the mechanic returned in both the Time Spiral block and the Innistrad block. [1] [2]

Comprehensive Rules[edit]

From the Comprehensive Rules:

  • 702.33. Flashback
    • 702.33a Flashback appears on some instants and sorceries. It represents two static abilities: one that functions while the card is in a player's graveyard and the other that functions while the card is on the stack. "Flashback [cost]" means "You may cast this card from your graveyard by paying [cost] rather than paying its mana cost" and "If the flashback cost was paid, exile this card instead of putting it anywhere else any time it would leave the stack." Casting a spell using its flashback ability follows the rules for paying alternative costs in rules 601.2b and 601.2e-g.

For your reference [CR 409.1b,f-h]

  • 409.1b If the spell or ability is modal (uses the phrase “Choose one —” or “[specified player] chooses one —”), the player announces the mode choice. If the player wishes to splice any cards onto the spell, he or she reveals those cards in his or her hand. If the spell or ability has a variable mana cost (indicated by {X}) or some other variable cost, the player announces the value of that variable at this time. If the spell or ability has alternative, additional, or other special costs (such as buyback, kicker, or convoke costs), the player announces his or her intentions to pay any or all of those costs (see rule 409.1f). You can’t apply two alternative methods of playing or two alternative costs to a single spell or ability. Previously made choices (such as choosing to play a spell with flashback from his or her graveyard or choosing to play a creature with morph face down) may restrict the player’s options when making these choices.
  • 409.1f The player determines the total cost of the spell or ability. Usually this is just the mana cost (for spells) or activation cost (for abilities). Some cards list additional or alternative costs in their text, and some effects may increase or reduce the cost to pay. Costs may include paying mana, tapping permanents, sacrificing permanents, discarding cards, and so on. The total cost is the mana cost, activation cost, or alternative cost, plus all cost increases and minus all cost reductions. Once the total cost is determined, it becomes “locked in.” If effects would change the total cost after this time, they have no effect.
  • 409.1g If the total cost includes a mana payment, the player then has a chance to play mana abilities (see rule 411, “Playing Mana Abilities”). Mana abilities must be played before costs are paid.
  • 409.1h The player pays the total cost in any order. Partial payments are not allowed.
    • Example
      You play Death Bomb, which costs Mana3.gifManab.gif and has an additional cost of sacrificing a creature. You sacrifice Thunderscape Familiar, whose effect makes your black spells cost Mana1.gif less to play. Because a spell’s total cost is “locked in” before payments are actually made, you pay Mana2.gifManab.gif, not Mana3.gifManab.gif, even though you’re sacrificing the Familiar.

Rulings[edit]

  • You must still follow any timing restrictions, including those based on the card's type. You can only cast a sorcery using flashback when you could normally cast a sorcery. Also visa versa when an instant (with flashback) is sent to the graveyard that player may cast it from the graveyard once more during their opponents turn.
  • Casting a spell using flashback doesn't change the mana cost (or converted mana cost) of the spell. You just pay the flashback cost instead.
  • Effects that cause you to pay more or less when casting a spell will also affect what you pay when casting the spell using flashback.
  • A spell cast using flashback will always be exiled afterward, whether it resolves, it's countered, or it leaves the stack in some other way.

Examples[edit]

  • Ray of Revelation - Mana1.gifManaw.gif
    Instant
    Destroy target enchantment.
    Flashback Manag.gif (You may cast this card from your graveyard for its flashback cost. Then exile it.)

Artifact that alters Flashback costs[edit]

Cards that grant Flashback[edit]

Creatures

Sorceries

Plane card that grants Flashback[edit]

  • Otaria (instant and sorcery cards in graveyards)

Notable cards with Flashback and their applications[edit]

  1. Cabal Therapy has been (understandably) referred to as the "greatest discard spell ever printed." In the hands of a skilled player, it has the ability to strip an opponents hands of relevant cards while still being able to view the rest of their hand. The flashback cost can also be a boon in the correct deck, thus making Cabal Therapy a threat most decks do not wish to see.
  2. Call of the Herd was a tournament staple from the very onset. Offering a reasonably costed 3/3 token the first time it is cast, the card advantage from flashing back the card is still very powerful. It also allowed many beatdown decks of the era to recover after a Wrath of God or other global removal. It was used in extended Rock.
  3. Dread Return

References[edit]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (December 12, 2011.) "Flashback to the Future", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Zac Hill. (December 16, 2011.) "Bringing Flashback Back", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit]

List of all MTG cards with Flashback