From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Introduced: Innistrad
Last Used: Evergreen
Reminder Text: No official reminder text
Statistics: 8 cards
{R}38% {G}25% Land 25% {X}12%
Gatherer search for "Fight"

Fight is a keyword action introduced in Innistrad. The word appears in a phrase like "[Cardname] fights target creature." and it means that both creatures deal damage equal to their Power to each other. [1] [2] Cards depicting fight appear primarily in red and green, and carry the flavor of an altercation.

Description[edit | edit source]

  • The damage is dealt simultaneously, and it is dealt by the creatures themselves, so abilities like deathtouch, lifelink, and infect will work as normal.
  • Damage dealt while fighting is not combat damage, so abilities like first strike won't have any effect.
  • Fighting does not cause the creatures to become tapped.
  • Only creatures can fight.
  • No more than two creatures can fight.
  • If a creature somehow fights itself, it will deal damage to itself equal to its power twice simultaneously.

Fight is similar to the mechanic originally introduced with the Land Arena, though slightly altered. A few old cards (including Arena) with the same functionality received updated Oracle wording using the new terminology. Cards with similar, but not identical, functionality do not use the word "fight."

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Kaladesh (September 30, 2016))

701.11. Fight

  • 701.11a A spell or ability may instruct a creature to fight another creature or it may instruct two creatures to fight each other. Each of those creatures deals damage equal to its power to the other creature.
  • 701.11b If a creature instructed to fight is no longer on the battlefield or is no longer a creature, no damage is dealt. If a creature is an illegal target for a resolving spell or ability that instructs it to fight, no damage is dealt.
  • 701.11c If a creature fights itself, it deals damage equal to its power to itself twice.
  • 701.11d The damage dealt when a creature fights isn’t combat damage.
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Kaladesh (September 30, 2016))
When two creatures fight, each deals damage equal to its power to the other. See rule 701.11, “Fight.”

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Blood Feud - {4}{R}{R}
    Target creature fights another target creature. (Each deals damage equal to its power to the other.)

Fighting cards before the keyword action[edit | edit source]

Some cards have abilities similar, but not identical, to fight and have not received errata:

One-sided fight[edit | edit source]

Green needed answers to creatures, but R&D wanted to make sure the solution to creatures involves creatures. Fight was the first step in that direction. The next step, as first seen in Oath of the Gatewatch, was one-sided fighting for green. [3] [4]

References[edit | edit source]