Extort

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Extort
Type: Triggered
Introduced: Gatecrash
Last Used: Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text: Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B} If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
Storm scale: 6[1]
Statistics: 13 cards
{B}38% {W}31% {W/B}31%
Gatherer search for "Extort"

Extort is a keyword introduced in Gatecrash, wherein it is the Orzhov Syndicate guild mechanic.[2] It allows players to pay additional {W} or {B} for spells they cast and create a small life-draining effect.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))

702.100. Extort

  • 702.100a Extort is a triggered ability. “Extort” means “Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain life equal to the total life lost this way.”
  • 702.100b If a permanent has multiple instances of extort, each triggers separately.
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))
Extort
A keyword ability that lets you gain life and have opponents lose life whenever you cast a spell. See rule 702.100, “Extort.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • You may pay {W/B} a maximum of one time for each extort triggered ability. You decide whether to pay when the ability resolves.
  • The amount of life you gain is based on the total amount of life lost, not necessarily the number of opponents you have. For example, if your opponent's life total can't change (perhaps because that player controls Platinum Emperion), you won't gain any life.
  • The extort ability doesn't target any player.
  • The hybrid white-black mana symbol does not change the card's colour identity.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Treasury Thrull - {4}{W}{B}
    Creature — Thrull
    4/4
    Extort (Whenever you cast a spell, you may pay {W/B}. If you do, each opponent loses 1 life and you gain that much life.)
    Whenever Treasury Thrull attacks, you may return target artifact, creature, or enchantment card from your graveyard to your hand.

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (May 2, 2016.) “Storm Scale: Ravnica and Return to Ravnica”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Mark Rosewater. (January 14, 2013.) “Gatecrashing the Party, Part 3”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.