Namespaces

Variants

Share

Share
Actions

Emblem

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

An emblem is a marker with an ability on it, used with Planeswalker cards.

Comprehensive Rules
Game Concepts
100. General
101. The Magic Golden Rules
102. Players
103. Starting the Game
104. Ending the Game
105. Colors
106. Mana
107. Numbers and Symbols
108. Cards
109. Objects
110. Permanents
111. Spells
112. Abilities
113. Emblems
114. Targets
115. Special Actions
116. Timing and Priority
117. Costs
118. Life
119. Damage
120. Drawing a Card
121. Counters
Parts of a Card
Card Types
Zones
Turn Structure
Spells, Abilities, and Effects
Additional Rules
Multiplayer Rules
Casual Variants

An emblem is different from a card or a token. The ability is the only characteristic it has. Emblems have no color, name, card type, or anything else — just that ability. They are placed in the command zone, which is the same place where Archenemy schemes, Planechase planes, Vanguard cards, and EDH generals are placed. They're not permanents, and absolutely nothing can touch them or get rid of them, simply because no cards say that they can.

Emblems were created in the July 2010 rules update to fix rules revolving around Elspeth, Knight-Errant's ultimate, which left an effect hanging over the game without any visual indicator.[1] Elspeth could theoretically 'go off' and then be shuffled back in the deck or somehow end up totally out of play, but still have her indestructibility clause hanging over the battle for turns to come. This situation left open the possibility that players would just forget about it.

The emblem for Sorin, Lord of Innistrad from Dark Ascension was the first emblem to be actually printed.

From the Comprehensive Rules (Born of the Gods)

  • 113. Emblems
    • 113.1. Some effects put emblems into the command zone. An emblem is a marker used to represent an object that has one or more abilities, but no other characteristics.
    • 113.2. An effect that creates an emblem is written "[Player] gets an emblem with [ability]." This means that [player] puts an emblem with [ability] into the command zone. The emblem is both owned and controlled by that player.
    • 113.3. An emblem has no characteristics other than the abilities defined by the effect that created it. In particular, an emblem has no name, no types, no mana cost, no color, and no expansion symbol.
    • 113.4. Abilities of emblems function in the command zone.
    • 113.5. An emblem is neither a card nor a permanent. Emblem isn't a card type.

[edit] Cards that produce emblems

[edit] Trivia

[edit] References

  1. Mark L. Gottlieb. (July 14, 2010.) "July 2010 Update Bulletin", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.