Double strike

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Double Strike
Duels Double Strike symbol.png
Type: Static
Introduced: Legions
Last Used: Evergreen
Reminder Text: Double strike (This creature deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.)
Statistics: 86 cards
{R}33% {W}30% {R/W}9% {R/G}6%
{B}3% {U}2% {G}2% {W/U}1%
Artifact 5% Multicolor 3%Plane 1%
Gatherer search for "Double Strike"

Double strike is an evergreen keyword ability that allows a creature to deal combat damage during both the First Strike and the normal Combat Damage Step.

Description[edit | edit source]

Double strike was introduced in Legions [1][2] and has been printed in each subsequent block. [3] [4] It appears primarily in Red, secondarily in White and a little in the rest of the colors.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))

702.4. Double Strike

  • 702.4a Double strike is a static ability that modifies the rules for the combat damage step. (See rule 510, “Combat Damage Step.”)
  • 702.4b If at least one attacking or blocking creature has first strike (see rule 702.7) or double strike as the combat damage step begins, the only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are those with first strike or double strike. After that step, instead of proceeding to the end of combat step, the phase gets a second combat damage step. The only creatures that assign combat damage in that step are the remaining attackers and blockers that had neither first strike nor double strike as the first combat damage step began, as well as the remaining attackers and blockers that currently have double strike. After that step, the phase proceeds to the end of combat step.
  • 702.4c Removing double strike from a creature during the first combat damage step will stop it from assigning combat damage in the second combat damage step.
  • 702.4d Giving double strike to a creature with first strike after it has already dealt combat damage in the first combat damage step will allow the creature to assign combat damage in the second combat damage step.
  • 702.4e Multiple instances of double strike on the same creature are redundant.
From the glossary of the Comprehensive Rules (Conspiracy: Take the Crown (August 26, 2016))
Double Strike
A keyword ability that lets a creature deal its combat damage twice. See rule 702.4, “Double Strike.”

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Double strike isn't first strike. Effects that make a creature lose first strike won't make it lose double strike.
  • Creatures with double strike and creatures with first strike deal combat damage in the first combat damage step.
  • All creatures that didn't assign combat damage in the first combat damage step assign combat damage in the second combat damage step. In addition, all creatures with double strike assign combat damage again in the second step.
  • If a creature has both double strike and trample, the combat damage it assigned during the first combat damage step will be considered when determining how much damage can trample through in the second combat damage step.

Examples[edit | edit source]

  • Boros Swiftblade - {R}{W}
    Creature — Human Soldier
    1/2
    Double strike (This creature deals both first-strike and regular combat damage.)

Cards that grant double strike[edit | edit source]

Planeswalkers

Sorceries (until end of turn)

Instants (until end of turn)

  • Boros Charm {R}{W} (3rd mode)
  • Double Cleave {1}{R/W} (your creatures)
  • Psychotic Fury {1}{R} (multicoloured creature only)
  • Temur Battle Rage{1}{R} (Ferocious — target creature also gets trample if you control a creature with power 4 or greater)
  • Savage Beating {3}{R}{R} (only during combat on your turn, your creatures (1st mode), also untap and have another combat if you pay its entwine cost of {1}{R})

Creatures

Auras (enchanted creature)

Enchantments (your creatures)

Equipment (equipped creature)

Land ({T} until end of turn)

Plane cards that grants double strike[edit | edit source]

External links[edit | edit source]

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Anthony Alongi. (September 16, 2003.) “Seeing Double”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  2. Randy Buehler. (January 17, 2003.) “Double Damage, Double Fun”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  3. Magic Arcana. (October 22, 2003.) “Fun with double strike”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.
  4. Mark Rosewater. (June 8, 2015.) “Evergreen Eggs & Ham”, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.