Share

Share

Devour

From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Devour
Type: Static
Introduced: Shards of Alara
Last Used: Alara Reborn
Reminder Text: Devour N. As this object enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it for each creature sacrificed this way.
Statistics: 15 cards
Manar.gif40% Manag.gif20% Manab.gif7% Multicolored 33%
Gatherer search for "Devour"


Devour is a static ability first introduced in Shards of Alara [1], and was also featured in Conflux, Alara Reborn and the Primordial Hunger deck of Planechase 2.

Rules[edit]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Khans of Tarkir)

  • 702.81. Devour
    • 702.81a Devour is a static ability. "Devour N" means "As this object enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This permanent enters the battlefield with N +1/+1 counters on it for each creature sacrificed this way."
    • 702.81b Some objects have abilities that refer to the number of creatures the permanent devoured. "It devoured" means "sacrificed as a result of its devour ability as it entered the battlefield."

Rulings[edit]

  • Devour appears only on creature cards.
  • A creature with devour can devour other creatures no matter how it comes into play.
  • You may choose to not sacrifice any creatures.
  • If you play a creature with devour as a spell, you choose how many and which creatures to devour as part of the resolution of that spell. (It can't be countered at this point.) The same is true of a spell or ability that lets you put a creature with devour into play.
  • You may sacrifice only creatures that are already in play. If a creature with devour and another creature are coming into play under your control at the same time, the creature with devour can't devour that other creature. The creature with devour also can't devour itself.
  • If multiple creatures with devour are coming into play under your control at the same time, you may use each one's devour ability. A creature you already control can be devoured by only one of them, however. (In other words, you can't sacrifice the same creature to satisfy multiple devour abilities.) All creatures devoured this way are sacrificed at the same time.

Examples[edit]

  • Gorger Wurm - Mana3.gifManar.gifManag.gif
    Creature — Wurm
    5/5
    Devour 1 (As this enters the battlefield, you may sacrifice any number of creatures. This creature enters the battlefield with that many +1/+1 counters on it.)

Plane card that grants Devour[edit]

  • Jund (whenever a player casts a black, red, or green creature spell - devour 5)

Trivia[edit]

  • Devour was featured as rules card 4 of 5 in the Shards of Alara set.

In other languages[edit]

Language or script Title Romanization
French
25
Dévorement
German
25
Verschlingen
Italian
25
Divorare
Portuguese
25 25
Devorar
Spanish
25
Devorar
Russian
25
Пожирание Pozhiranie
(GOST 2002)
Japanese
25
貪食 Donshoku
(Hepburn)
Simplified Chinese
25
吞噬 Tūnshì
(Pinyin)

References[edit]

  1. Mark Rosewater. (September 15, 2008.) "Shard Candy", Daily MTG, magicthegathering.com, Wizards of the Coast.

External links[edit]


Alara block
Expansions: Shards of Alara | Conflux | Alara Reborn
Alara storyline
Shards: Bant Manag.gifManaw.gifManau.gif | Esper Manaw.gifManau.gifManab.gif | Grixis Manau.gifManab.gifManar.gif | Jund Manab.gifManar.gifManag.gif | Naya Manar.gifManag.gifManaw.gif
Characters: Ajani | Elspeth Tirel | Nicol Bolas | Rafiq | Sarkhan Vol | Tezzeret
Others: Etherium | Jazal | Kathari | Leotau | Maelstrom