From MTG Salvation Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search
Introduced: Return to Ravnica
Last Used: Dragon's Maze
Reminder Text: Detain (Until your next turn, that permanent can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)
Statistics: 11 cards

Manaw.gif36% Manawu.gif36% Manau.gif28%

Gatherer search for "Detain"

Detain is a keyword action that was introduced in Return to Ravnica.[1] Dragon's Maze added 2 cards with detain. In effect, for one round of turns, it is an Arrest or Faith's Fetters for any permanent.

Rules[edit | edit source]

From the Comprehensive Rules (Battle for Zendikar (September 26, 2015))

701.26. Detain

  • 701.26a Certain spells and abilities can detain a permanent. Until the next turn of the controller of that spell or ability, that permanent can’t attack or block and its activated abilities can’t be activated.

Rulings[edit | edit source]

  • Activated abilities include a colon and are written in the form “[cost]: [effect].” No one can activate any activated abilities, including mana abilities, of a detained permanent.
  • The static abilities of a detained permanent still apply. The triggered abilities of a detained permanent can still trigger.
  • If a creature is already attacking or blocking when it’s detained, it won’t be removed from combat. It will continue to attack or block.
  • If a permanent’s activated ability is on the stack when that permanent is detained, the ability will be unaffected.
  • If a noncreature permanent is detained and later turns into a creature, it won’t be able to attack or block.
  • When a player leaves a multiplayer game, any continuous effects with durations that last until that player's next turn or until a specific point in that turn will last until that turn would have begun. They neither expire immediately nor last indefinitely.

Example[edit | edit source]

  • Lyev Skyknight - Mana1.gifManaw.gifManau.gif
    Creature — Human Knight
    When Lyev Skyknight enters the battlefield, detain target nonland permanent an opponent controls. (Until your next turn, that permanent can't attack or block and its activated abilities can't be activated.)''

References[edit | edit source]

  1. Dave Guskin. (November 02, 2012.) "Article I: Fun (see also Subsections F, J, and V.14.k)", Daily MTG,, Wizards of the Coast.